ASEAN-China Network for Cooperation and Exchanges among Engineering
and Technology Universities

Member Universities

Chongqing University

Chongqing University (CQU) is a key national comprehensive university in China, directly under administration of the Ministry of Education (MoE), also one of the "211” Project and “985” Project universities with full support in the construction and development from the central and local Government of China. CQU is located in Shapingba District, a cultural and educational center in Chongqing Municipality.
Founded in 1929, CQU had become a national comprehensive university consisting of six colleges in liberal arts, science, engineering, law science and medical science early in 1940s, thus earned a prestige both domestic and abroad then for its outstanding performance in education. In 1952, the nationwide restructuring of higher education turned CQU into an engineering-orientated multi-disciplinary university under the State Ministry of Education. In 1960, CQU was designated as one of the first key national universities. Since 1978, CQU has stressed the development of disciplines like humanities, business management, art, sports education, which has further sped up the process of developing itself into a comprehensive institution of higher learning. In May of 2000, the former Chongqing University merged with Chongqing Jianzhu University and Chongqing Architectural College, forming a new Chongqing University. While maintaining its previous disciplinary advantage in mechanical and electrical engineering, energy, material science, information technology, bioengineering, business administration, the merger upgrades the new CQU's academic status in China in the fields of architecture, civil engineering and environmental studies.

Currently, CQU has 4 campuses, covering a total area of 5,450 mu (about 363 hectares). Equipped with abundant resources and facilities for academic activities, the garden-like campuses provides a comfortable and excellent learning and living environment for students. CQU runs 6 faculties in arts & humanities, social sciences, science, engineering, information science, built environment, altogether comprising 32 colleges and schools. The University has a total of 50,000 full-time students, of which over 27,000 are undergraduate students, 21,000 master and doctoral students, some 1500, international students. The university has over 5,300 faculty and staff members, among whom there are 5 members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, over 600 doctorate supervisors, 1,900 full professors and associate professors.
CQU now offers 96 bachelor degree programs in 10 disciplinary categories of science, engineering, liberal arts, economics, management, law, education, arts, philosophy and history, 181 master programs in 51 authorized first-level disciplines, 90 doctoral programs in 28 first-level disciplines, and post-doctoral study programs in 29 mobile workstations, and 19 professional degree programs as well. The university owns 3 first-level state key subjects, 17 second-level state key subjects, 14 “211” key subjects, 37 ministerial or provincial first-level key subjects. There are 11state key research bases, including 3 key state laboratories, 7 state teaching demonstration centers, 2 state virtual simulation teaching labs, 3 state bases for fundamental courses teaching and for cultural quality education of college students, 8 MOE key laboratories, and over 180 research bases of different types. 

Since 2006, CQU has undertaken over 4800 research projects of different types, supported by the key program of the National Natural Science Foundation, “973” project, 863 project, national S&T support scheme, national defense projects. etc. It reaps over 200 S&T awards of state or provincial, ministerial levels, 40 state level teaching awards, 121 provincial teaching awards.
Chongqing University attaches great importance to international cooperation and exchanges. It has established partnership with over 120 universities or research institutions or enterprises in 20 countries. As one of the first cohort of Demonstration Universities for international student education authorized by MoE, CQU currently hosts 1300 international students who are from 130 countries. CQU has set up 3 Confucius Institutes in cooperation with Betong City government in Thailand, Scuola Superiore Sant’ Anna (SSSA) in Italy, and La Trobe University in Australia.

CQU has been committed to serving the development of local economy and the whole nation, becoming an important education base and a research center, by nurturing more than 200,000 advanced professionals who have become the backbone in the nation's economic construction. There are over 40 CQU alumni who are now members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering or members of the Chinese Academy of Science.
By keeping faith with its education mission of conducting research, cultivating talents, serving community, promoting social development, CQU will carry forward its excellent schooling tradition, strive for the realization of its goal to develop into a first-class comprehensive research university in China, with unique characteristics and international fame.